You should know that I started reading LOTR fics because of you, which would be great except for the fact that you’ve ruined me for anything else. I’m currently reading another fic (before I re-read Sansukh) and it’s good OK but every time one of your OCs doesn’t make an appearance I find myself absolutely befuddled. Like where is Wee Thorin? Gimizh? Stonehelm? Bomfris? Gimris? WHERE ARE THEY? And then I remember that they’re your OCs and not canon chars. TL;DR your OCs are everything and ILTSM~

I am just so thrilled and so SO flattered you like sansukh and my OCs! Thank you, I worked hella hard on those characters ❤ it’s lovely to hear that they grab you like that!

BUT – oh god there are so SO many amazing fics, seriously, don’t let my blahdeblahs distract you from them!! I can howl about any and all of the fics on my reclist FORFUCKINGEVER, i stg. They’re all amaaaazing. 

(I am also quietly-but-immensely gleeful that Sansukh has brought you into the awesome world of LOTR fic, eeeeeeyyyy *high-fives self* )

Thank you so so much, Nonnie, and I wish you many many hours of amazing fic enjoyment!

Dear longfic writers

greywolf-sheera:

the-pen-pot:

wrecked-anon:

sabrecmc:

rederiswrites:

  • If you sometimes feel like it was pure, ridiculous hubris that you ever started a story that would take so much work and persistence to finish, I promise you, you’re not alone.
  • If you feel like you’ve already been writing forever and the “good bits” are still ages away, you’re not alone.
  • If you’ve been stuck for days or weeks or longer because you know what happens later but you don’t know what happens next, you’re not alone.
  • If you’re desperate to squeal about your beloved OTP but you feel like you can’t, because spoilers, and it’s driving you nuts, you’re not alone.
  • If you feel like you’ll never finish and you’re bound to fuck it up somehow, you’re not alone.
  • If you wonder if you’ve sabotaged yourself because who’s going to click through to a 28 chapter WIP, you’re not alone.
  • If you feel like you’ve been pouring your life into a single story for ages and will be for ages still and you don’t know why anymore because hardly anyone seems to care, you’re not alone.
  • If you can hardly even plan the further-away parts of the story or even think about them because thinking about them reminds you how absurdly far you still have to go and you get massive anxiety, please believe me.  You are not alone.

@angels-are-robots

Dear longfic writers

  • I fucking live for your work. Like I love me a little one-shot or a medium-length fic but srsly give me that 100k+ (200k? 300k? yes pls) goodness.
  • I am constantly in awe of your ability to stick with your story, to keep your plot moving and your characters’ relationships developing like just damn.
  • I don’t judge if your updates are erratic. If you’re worried about too much time passing between updates, just know that I and so many others squeal with joy when we get that subscriber notification in our inboxes.
  • There is literally nothing more glorious than watching characters develop through a long-ass fic. Relationships, friendships, character growth? Sometimes after I’ve finished a longfic or I’ve gotten to the last update I’ll go back and reread the first couple chapters just to see how far my babies have come.
  • If you stop updating your fic for whatever reason, that’s okay. We as readers are just lucky to have been graced with your story as long as you chose to write it. You’ve been gifting us with time and effort for this long and we appreciate it.
  • As someone who has had multiple longfic ideas and either (1) got through two chapters and gave up or (2) was too overwhelmed by how much work it would take to actually write, you are my literal superheroes.
  • You are brave and persistent and creative and a gift to fandom, and if you ever need a pep talk I am here to love on you.

I feel everything @rederiswrites said and adore everything @wrecked-anon added

@determamfidd

All my hearfelt kudos.

nnnngggh omg thank you @greywolf-sheera!

image

scarletjedi:

punsbulletsandpointythings:

poplitealqueen:

punsbulletsandpointythings:

poplitealqueen:

I just had the stupidest, or the most brilliant, idea ever.

Share?

*deep breath* Okay.

Gimli and Legolas’ last memory of Middle Earth is leaving it to sail to Valinor. Next thing they both know, they’re sailing through the stars inside a hollow metal boat being chased by TIE fighters.

“Looks like we’re part o’ another war, lad,” Gimli says with excited exasperation.

Basically they think the Star Wars galaxy is Valinor, and they take to being part of the Rebellion really, really well.

(Also I just really REALLY really want Leia to be compared to Galadriel. I need it. I need Gimli and Legolas to be in fucking awe of this woman. Han is totally an Aragorn type, and Luke obviously gets compared to Hobbits.)

(Gimli has a mithril-hilted lightsaber, too. Because I said so. Legolas can have a badass bowcaster and a couple blasters, too)

YESSSS

Fuck dude that sounds so amazing!!!

I would read this. All of this.

*GASPS*

OMG POP AHHH 

I grew up listening to “The Devil Made Texas” by Hermes Nye since, y’know, i live in tx, but that death bird velociraptor post u reblogged made me think it should’ve been written for Australia instead

LMAO ! yeah, the cassowary is a pretty scary birb! But really, you’re not likely to see one outside of a rainforest or a wildlife reserve. Cassowaries haven’t killed anybody since 1926, according to this site. They’re not very common.

(that site is a riot, omg – my fave story on it is the one about the guy who “

fell into a mating hole of a brush turkey who then approached the man and tried to bury him in a mating ritual.” BWAAHAHAHAHAHAHA)

Dwarf Games – Gigolas fic for the 1k Gigolas project

scarletjedi:

NEW FIC!! 

The first New Year after the fall of the Enemy marks an occasion for celebration in the North – so Thorin III Stonehelm is to host the Games, a festival with games of skill and feasting—and Legolas and Gimli act like the newlyweds they are.

Pretty hardcore smut – chapter 5 shows them just as competitive in the bedroom as in the games, so definitely NSFW. 

Originally written for @kooriicolada, who was cool with me posting this. 😀 

BTW, this fic brings the gigolas total on ao3 to 989. SO CLOSE YOU GUYS!

If you like what I do, consider clicking my coffee button. That’d be cool of you. 

*GASPS* OMG I LOVE THIS I LOVE THIS – heck you know i love this, lmao, this is an insta-classic, as far as I am concerned <3333

*slaps fic onto my reclist faster than the speed of SOUND*

Dwarf Games – Gigolas fic for the 1k Gigolas project